Here Are All The Winners From The First-Ever Texture Style Awards

Four hairstylists took home top honors for the competition celebrating all hair textures.

Texture Style Awards

We love a good awards show — especially one that celebrates diversity in beauty. So, we were all here for the Texture Style Awards, the first-ever hairstylist competition created to increase inclusion by placing equal emphasis on all four hair texture categories: straight, wavy, curly, and coily/kinky.

After receiving about 350 submissions and a whopping 27,000 votes, the awards crowned its top winners, along with honoring beauty pros for their contributions to the industry, including Keya Neal (Change Agent Of The Year); Nina Tulio and Mr. J. Ladner (Beauty Media Of The Year); and Joy Williams (New Stylist Of The Year).

“The awards were a labor of love and a rallying cry to both the entertainment and beauty industries,” said awards founder and celeb hairstylist Monaè Everett. “As beauty pros, we are ready to see many more forms of beauty. And, we know the time is here and now for artists of all backgrounds to receive the opportunities and recognition they deserve.”


Straight Hair Stylist Of The Year
Angelica Mirela Tanta — Chicago, IL

Wavy Hair Stylist Of The Year
Sandra Henri — Ewa Beach, HI

Curly Hair Stylist Of The Year
Richar Staten — Lanham, MD

Kinky Hair Stylist Of The Year
Rania Nekole — Atlanta, GA

New Stylist Of The Year
Joy Williams — Houston, TX

Beauty Media Of The Year
Nina Tulio and Mr. J. Ladner, hosts of “No Stylist Left Behind”

Change Agent Of The Year
Keya Neal

You can watch the full awards show here.